Learn More


Huron was established by an Act of the Province of Canada in 1863 and continued by The Huron College Act, 1958 (amended in 1961 and 1975).

It is currently governed by The Huron University College Act, 2020. An Academic Council is responsible for all matters relating to the academic life of the institution.

Huron is an independent, degree-granting institution, which has been affiliated with Western University since the late nineteenth century. Apart from honorary degrees in divinity, its degree-granting authority is currently held in abeyance, under the terms of our Affiliation Agreement with Western University. The President of Huron is an ex-officio member of the Western Senate.

Board of Governors

Dr. Barry Craig
President, Huron University College
Prem Watsa
Chancellor, Huron University College & Chairman and CEO, Fairfax Financial Holdings Ltd.
Brian Porter
Former President & CEO, Scotiabank & Chair, Huron’s Board of Governors
Wes Hall
Executive Chairman & Founder, Kingsdale Advisors & Vice-Chair, Huron’s Board of Governors
Melinda Rogers-Hixon
Deputy Chair, Rogers Communications Inc. & External Member of the Executive Committee, Huron’s Board of Governors
Yola Ventresca
Managing Partner, Lerners LLP & Secretary of Huron’s Board of Governors
Michael Medline
President & CEO, Empire Company Ltd. & Sobeys Inc.
Arlene Dickinson
General Partner, District Ventures Capital, Best-selling Author, Entrepreneur & Investor/Dragon
Kelly Meighen
President, TR Meighen Family Foundation
David 'Patch' Patchell-Evans
Founder & CEO, GoodLife Fitness
Leigh Allen
AVP, Global Strategic Research, Reinsurance Group of America Inc.
Jane Caskey
Global Chief Client Officer & Head of Risk Advisory, Norton Rose Fulbright LLP
Andrew Aziz
Partner, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Gerald Slemko
CEO, Trudell Medical Ltd. & Deputy Chair, Ellis Don
Al Donald
Partner, Deloitte Canada
Suzanne Fleming
Managing Partner, Communications, Brookfield Asset Management
Caleb James Hayhoe
Founder & Chairman, Flowerdale Group Ltd.
Frank Holmes
CEO & Chief Investment Officer, U.S. Global Investors
Jason Melbourne
Managing Director, Global Head of Canadian Equities & Distribution, Canaccord Genuity
Ranjita Rajan
Founder & Chair of Trustees, The Karta Initiative
Catherine Claydon
Chair of the BBC Pension Trust
Chelsea Smith
Associate, McKenzie Lake Lawyers LLP
Susan Farrow
Occupational Therapist & Assistant Professor, University of Toronto
Andy Truong
Executive Director, AKD International Inc.
Dr. Geoff Read
Provost & Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Science, Huron University College
Dr. Dan Smith
Dean of Theology, Huron University College
The Rt. Rev. Dr. Todd Townshend
Bishop, Diocese of Huron
Dr. Ingrid Mattson
Professor of Islamic Studies at Huron, London and Windsor Community Chair in Islamic Studies (Elected by Faculty of Theology)
Dr. Neil Bradford
Professor of Political Science & Chair, Governance, Leadership and Ethics, Huron (Elected by Faculty of Arts and Social Science)
Aaryan Lakhan
President, Huron University College Students’ Council (Elected by Huron student body)
  • We believe society is crying out at this exact point in history for students who are called to lead – but to lead with a heart and a conscience.
    Dr. Barry Craig
    President at Huron
    Read more

Past Motions

Faculty of Arts and Social Science

2019-2024 FASS Academic Plan

Key Contacts